The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association voted the war epic 1917 as the best film of 2019, according to the results of its 26th annual critics’ poll released today. Following is a complete list of award winners, with choices listed in order of votes received.

Rounding out the composite list of the top 10 films of the year were as follows:

2) Marriage Story

3) Parasite

4) The Irishman

5) Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood

6) Jojo Rabbit

7) Little Women

8) The Farewell

9) The Two Popes

10) Knives Out

Best Actor
Marriage Story1) Adam Driver for Marriage Story

2) Joaquin Phoenix for Joker

3) Leonardo DiCaprio for Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood

4) Antonio Banderas for Pain and Glory

5) Robert DeNiro for The Irishman


Best Actress

Marriage Story1) Scarlett Johansson for Marriage Story

2) Renee Zellweger for Judy

3) Charlize Theron for Bombshell?

4) Saoirse Ronan for Little Women

Tie 5) Awkwafina for The Farewell

Tie 5) Lupita Nyong'o for US


Best Supporting Actor

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood1) Brad Pitt for Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood

2) Willem Dafoe for The Lighthouse

3) Joe Pesci for The Irishman

4) Al Pacino for The Irishman

5) Shia LaBeouf for Honey Boy


Best Supporting Actress

Marriage Story1) Laura Dern for Marriage Story

2) Margot Robbie for Bombshell

3) Florence Pugh for Little Women

4) Jennifer Lopez for Hustlers

5) Annette Bening for The Report


Best Director

19171) Sam Mendes for 1917

2) Bong Joon-ho for Parasite

3) Martin Scorcese for The Irishman

4) Quentin Tarantino for Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood

5) Noah Baumbach for Marriage Story



Best Foreign Language Film

Parasite1) Parasite

2) Pain and Glory

3) The Farewell

4) Les Miserables

5) Portrait of a Lady on Fire


Best Documentary

Apollo 111) Apollo 11

2) One Child Nation

3) American Factory

4) Honeyland

5) For Sama


Best Animated Film

Toy Story 41) Toy Story 4

2) I Lost My Body



Best Screenplay

Marriage Story1) Noah Baumbach for Marriage Story

2) Steven Zaillian for The Irishman




Best Cinematography

19171) Roger Deakins for 1917

2) Hong Kyung-pyo for Parasite




Best Musical Score

19171) Thomas Newman, 1917

2) Alexandre Desplait for Little Women




Russell Smith Award

Thge LighthouseThe association also voted The Lighthouse as the winner of the Russell Smith Award, named for the late Dallas Morning News film critic. The honor is given annually to the best low-budget or cutting-edge independent film.



The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association consists of 32 broadcast, print and online journalists from North Texas. For more information, visit www.dfwcritics.com or follow us on Facebook or Twitter @dfwfilmcritics.