The Holdovers

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association voted the American Comedy drama THE HOLDOVERS as the best film of 2023, according to the results of its 30th annual critics’ poll released today. Following is a complete list of award winners, with choices listed in order of votes received.

Rounding out the composite list of the top 10 films of the year were as follows:

2) Oppenheimer

3) Killers of the Flower Moon

4) Poor Things

5) American Fiction

6) Past Lives

7) Maestro

8) Anatomy of a Fall

9) Barbie

10) May December

Best Actor
Oppenheimer1) Cillian Murphy for Oppenheimer

2) Paul Giamatti for The Holdovers

3) Bradley Cooper for Maestro

4) Jeffrey Wright for American Fiction

5) Leonardo DiCaprio for Killers of the Flower Moon


Best Actress

Killers of the Flower Moon1) Lilly Gladstone for Killers of the Flower Moon

2) Emma Stone for Poor Things

3) Carey Mulligan for Maestro

4) Greta Lee for Past Lives

5) Sandra Huller for Anatomy of a Fall


Best Supporting Actor

Oppenheimer1) Robert Downey, Jr. for Oppenheimer

2) Charles Melton for May December

3) Robert DeNiro for Killers of the Flower Moon

4) Mark Ruffalo for Poor Things

5) Dominic Sessa for The Holdovers


Best Supporting Actress

The Holdovers1) Da’Vine Joy Randolph for The Holdovers

2) Danielle Brooks for The Color Purple

3) Emily Blunt for Oppenheimer

4) Jody Foster for Nyad

5) Julianne Moore for May December


Best Director

Oppenheimer1) Christopher Nolan for Oppenheimer

2) Martin Scorsese for Killers of the Flower Moon

3) Alexander Payne for The Holdovers

4) Yorgos Lanthimos for Poor Things

5) Celine Song for Past Lives

Best Foreign Language Film

Anatomy of a Fall1) Anatomy of a Fall

2) The Zone of Interest

3) The Taste of Things

4) Society of the Snow

5) Fallen Leaves


Best Documentary

Summer of Soul1) American Symphony

2) 20 Days in Marriupol

3) Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie

4) The Deepest Breath

5) The Pigeon Tunnel


Best Animated Film

The Boy and the Heron1) The Boy and the Heron

2) Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse




Best Screenplay

The Holdovers1) David Hemingson for The Holdovers

2) Justine Triet and Arthur Harari for Anatomy of a Fall




Best Cinematography

Oppenheimer1) Hoyte van Hoytema for Oppenheimer

2) Rodrigo Prieto for Killers of the Flower Moon




Best Musical Score

Killers of the Flower Moon1) Robbie Robertson, Killers of the Flower Moon

2) Ludwig Goransson for Oppenheimer




Russell Smith Award

FleeThe association also voted The Zone of Interest as the winner of the Russell Smith Award, named for the late Dallas Morning News film critic. The honor is given annually to the best low-budget or cutting-edge independent film.



The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association consists of 24 broadcast, print and online journalists from throughout North Texas. For more information, visit or follow us on Facebook or Twitter @dfwfilmcritics.