Dallas/Fort Worth Film Critics Name A STAR IS BORN Best Film of 2018

A Star is Born

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association voted the musical drama A STAR IS BORN as the best film of 2018, according to the results of its 25th annual critics’ poll released today.

Rounding out the composite list of the top 10 films of the year were as follows:

2) Roma

3) The Favourite


5) BlacKkKlansman

6) Black Panther

7) Green Book

8) If Beale Street Could Talk

9) Eighth Grade

10 Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Best Actor
Vice1) Christian Bale for VICE

2) Rami Malek for Bohemian Rhapsody

3) Bradley Cooper for A Star is Born

4) Ethan Hawke for First Reformed

5) Viggo Mortensen for Green Book


Best Actress

The Favourite1) Olivia Colman for The Favourite

2) Lady Gaga for Star is Born

3) Melissa McCarthy for Can You Ever Forgive Me?

4) Glenn Close for The Wife

5) Nicole Kidman for Destroyer


Best Supporting Actor

Green Book1) Mahershala Ali for Green Book

2) Richard E. Grant for Can You Ever Forgive Me?

3) Sam Elliott for A Star is Born

4) Timothee Chalamet for Beautiful Boy

5) Michael B. Jordan for Black Panther


Best Supporting Actress

If Beale Street Could Talk1) Regina King for If Beale Street Could Talk

2) Emma Stone for The Favourite

3) Rachel Weisz for The Favourite

4) Amy Adams for VICE

5) Claire Foy for First Man, Tilda Swinton for Suspiria (tie)


Best Director

Roma1) Alphonso Cuaron for Roma

2) Bradley Cooper for A Star is Born

3) Yorgas Lanthimos for The Favourite

4) Spike Lee for BlacKkKlansman

5) Adam McKay for VICE



Best Foreign Language Film

Roma1) Roma

2) Cold War

3) Shoplifters

4) Burning

5) Never Look Away


Best Documentary

Won't You Be My Neighbor?1) Won't You Be My Neighbor

2) Free Solo

3) Three Identical Strangers

4) RBG

5) Minding the Gap


Best Animated Film

Isle of Dogs1) Isle of Dogs

2) Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse




Best Screenplay

The Favourite1) Tony McNamara for The Favourite

2) Paul Schrader for First Reformed




Best Cinematography

Roma1) Alphonso Cuaron for Roma

2) Robbie Ryan for The Favourite




Best Musical Score

Isle of Dogs1) Alexandre Desplat, The Isle of Dogs

2) Justin Hurwitz for First Man




Russell Smith Award

The RiderThe association also voted The Rider as the winner of the Russell Smith Award, named for the late Dallas Morning News film critic. The honor is given annually to the best low-budget or cutting-edge independent film.



The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association consists of 34 broadcast, print and online journalists from North Texas. For more information, visit www.dfwcritics.com or follow us on Facebook or Twitter @dfwfilmcritics.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio