The HorsemenMPAA Rating: R for grisly and disturbing content, some sexual images and language.
Runtime: 110 mins.
Director: Jonas Ã…kerlund
Writer: Dave Callaham
Cast: Dennis Quaid, Ziyi Zhang, Lou Taylor Pucci, Clifton Collins Jr, Paul Dooley, Chelcie Ross.
Tagline: The Horsemen.
Genre: Drama | Horror
Memorable Quote: "Are you going to catch the person that did this?"
Release Date: March 6, 2009
DVD Release Date: July 14, 2009
Distributor: Lionsgate

2 stars

The Last House on teh LeftMPAA Rating: R for sadistic brutal violence including a rape and disturbing images, language, nudity and some drug use.
Runtime: 110 mins.
Director: Dennis Iliadis
Writer: Adam Alleca and Carl Ellsworth
Cast: Garret Dillahunt; Michael Bowen; Josh Cox
Tagline: The Last House on the Left.
Genre: Horror
Memorable Quote: "You know Krug, considering the rather notorious nature of the prison you're headed to, I think I'd pray for something a little more substantial" ... more quotes
Release Date: March 13, 2009.
DVD Release Date: August 18, 2009.
Distributor: Rogue Pictures

3 Stars

The Hurt LockerMPAA Rating: R for war violence and language.
Runtime: 131 mins.
Director: Kathryn Bigelow
Writer: Mark Boal
Cast: Jeremy Renner; Anthony Mackie; Brian Geraghty; Guy Pearce
Tagline: The Hurt Locker.
Genre: War
Memorable Quote: "If I'm gonna die, wanna die comfortable"
Release Date: July 10, 2009
DVD Release Date: January12, 2010.
Distributor: Summit Entertainment

5 Stars

Public EnemiesMPAA Rating: R for gangster violence and some language.
Runtime: 140 mins.
Director: Michael Mann
Writer: Ronan Bennett and Michael Mann
Cast: Johnny Depp; Christian Bale; Marion Cotillard ... complete cast
Tagline: Public Enemies.
Genre: Crime | Drama
Memorable Quote: "The only way you're walking out of this jail cell is when we take you out to execute you."
Release Date: July 1, 2009
DVD Release Date: December 8, 2009.
Distributor: Universal Pictures

3 Stars

TransformersMPAA Rating: PG-13 for intense sequences of sci-fi action violence, language, some crude and sexual material, and brief drug material.
Runtime: 150 mins.
Director: Michael Bay
Writer: Ehren Kruger & Roberto Orci
Cast: Shia LaBeouf; Megan Fox; Josh Duhamel; Tyrese Gibson
Tagline: Revenge is coming.
Genre: Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi
Memorable Quote: "Bumblebee, just hear me out okay. You know freshmen aren't allowed to have cars, that's all it is. It is best for both of us. I know it doesn't sound like it but... you're an Autobot, you shouldn't be living in my dad's garage. I mean you're suffocating in here. Hey will you look at me please? Hey, come on big guy... "
Release Date: June 24, 2009
DVD Release Date: Not yet on DVD.
Distributor: DreamWorks SKG

4 stars

The UnbornMPAA Rating: PG-13 for intense sequences of violence and terror, disturbing images, thematic material and language including some sexual references.
Runtime: 87 mins.
Director: David S. Goyer
Writer: David S. Goyer
Cast: Gary Oldman; Meagan Good; Carla Gugino
Tagline: Evil will do anything to live.
Genre: Horror
Memorable Quote: "Jumby wants to be born now. "
Release Date: January 9, 2009
DVD Release Date: July 7, 2009
Distributor: Rogue Pictures

2 stars

Year OneMPAA Rating: PG-13 for crude and sexual content throughout, brief strong language and comic violence. (edited; originally Rated R for some sexual content and language.)
Runtime: 97 mins.
Director: Harold Ramis
Writer: Harold Ramis & Gene Stupnitsky
Cast: Jack Black; Michael Cera; Oliver Platt David Cross
Tagline: Meet your ancestors.
Genre: Comedy
Memorable Quote: "Well there won't be any berries in the fruit salad now, so we all lose.
Release Date: June 19, 2009
DVD Release Date: Not yet on DVD.
Distributor: Columbia Pictures

1 Star

The ProposalMPAA Rating: PG-13 for sexual content, nudity and language.
Runtime: 107 mins.
Director: Anne Fletcher
Writer: Pete Chiarelli
Cast: Sandra Bullock; Ryan Reynolds; Mary Steenburgen
Tagline: Here comes the bribe...
Genre: Comedy | Romance
Memorable Quote: "We are uh... getting married"
Release Date: June 19, 2009
DVD Release Date: October 13, 2009.
Distributor: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

3 Stars

My Bloody ValentineMPAA Rating: R for graphic brutal horror violence and grisly images throughout, some strong sexuality, graphic nudity and language.
Runtime: 101 mins.
Director: Patrick Lussier
Writer: Todd Farmer and Zane Smith
Cast: Jensen Ackles; Jamie King; Kerr King
Tagline: On January 16, Get Your Heart Broken.
Genre: Horror
Memorable Quote: "Jason, is that you? "
Release Date: January 16, 2009
DVD Release Date: May 19, 2009
Distributor: Lionsgate

1 Star

UpMPAA Rating: PG for some peril and action.
Runtime: 96 mins.
Director: Pete Docter; Bob Peterson
Writer: Bob Peterson
Cast: Edward Asner; Christopher Plummer; Delroy Lindo; John Ratzenberger ... complete cast
Tagline: Up.
Genre: Animated | Comedy
Memorable Quote: "You got a "run away in terror" badge?" ... more quotes
Release Date: May 29, 2009
DVD Release Date: November, 10, 2009.
Distributor: Buena Vista Pictures

5 Stars

Drag Me to HellMPAA Rating: PG-13 for sequences of horror violence, terror, disturbing images and language.
Runtime: 99 mins.
Director: Sam Raimi
Writer: Sam Raimi & Ivan Raimi
Cast: Alison Lohman; Juston Long; Lorna Raver
Tagline: Christine Brown has a good job, a great boyfriend, and a bright future. But in three days, she's going to hell.
Genre: Horror/Thriller
Memorable Quote: "We would have to throw her out of her house"
Release Date: May 29, 2009
DVD Release Date: October 13, 2009.
Distributor: Universal Pictures

4 stars

Night at the Museum 2MPAA Rating: PG for mild action and brief language.
Runtime: 105 mins.
Director: Shawn Levy
Writer: Robert Ben Garant & Thomas Lennon
Cast: Ben Stiller; Amy Adams; Owen Wilson; Robin Wilson
Tagline: When the lights go off the battle is on.
Genre: Action | Comedy
Memorable Quote: "It's the United States of "Don't Touch That Thing Right in Front of You."
Release Date: May 22, 2009
DVD Release Date: Decmeber 1, 2009.
Distributor: Twentieth Century-Fox Film Corporation

2 stars

Underworld: Rise of the LycansMPAA Rating: R for bloody violence and some sexuality.
Runtime: 92 mins.
Director: Patrick Tatopoulos
Writer: Danny McBride and Dirk Blackman
Cast: Michael Sheen; Bill Nighy; Rhona Mitra
Tagline: Underworld: Rise of the Lycans.
Genre: Action | Fantasy | Horror
Memorable Quote: "Vampire and Lycan, we are both the children of Corvinus. Yet my kind are slaves. I will use this one day. And I will leave this place. But I can never be without you."
Release Date: January 23, 2009
DVD Release Date: May 12, 2009
Distributor: Screen Gems

3 Stars

Terminator SalvationMPAA Rating: PG-13 for intense sequences of sci-fi violence and action, and language.
Runtime: 130 mins.
Director: McG
Writer: John D. Brancato & Michael Ferris
Cast: Christain Bale; Sam Worthington; Moon Bloodgood
Tagline: The End Begins.
Genre: Action | Sci-Fi
Memorable Quote: "Win or lose, this war ends tonight! "
Release Date: May 21, 2009
DVD Release Date: December 1, 2009.
Distributor: Warner Bros. Pictures

2 stars

Angels & DemonsMPAA Rating: PG-13 for sequences of violence, disturbing images and thematic material.
Runtime: 138 mins.
Director: Ron Howard
Writer: David Koepp and Akiva Goldsman
Cast: Tom Hanks; Ewan McGregor; Stellan Skarsgard
Tagline: The holiest event of our time. Perfect for their return.
Genre: Crime | Drama | Mystery
Memorable Quote: "When you write about us, and you will, do so gently. "
Release Date: May 15, 2009
DVD Release Date: November 24, 2009.
Distributor: Sony Pictures Entertainment

4 stars

Movie Reviews

Our Tweets

 

You are here: Home Home Video DVD/Blu-ray/4K
Follow us on Twitter
Like us on Facebook
Google+
Letterboxd
Find us on Rotten Tomatoes