The City of Your Final Destination - DVD ReviewMPAA Rating: PG-13 for a brief sexual situation with partial nudity.
Runtime
: 118 mins.
Director
: James Ivory
Writer
: Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
Cast
: Anthony Hopkins; Laura Linney
Tagline
: The City of Your Final Destination
Genre
: Drama
Release Date:
April 23, 2010 (limited)
DVD/Blu-ray Release Date
: August 17, 2010

1 Star

National Lampoon's VacationDirector: Harold Ramis
Writer
: John Hughes
Cast: Chevy Chase; Beverly D'Angelo; Randy Quaid
Genre
: Comedy
Memorable Movie Quote: "I don't know why they call this stuff hamburger helper. It does just fine by itself, huh? I like it better than tuna helper myself, don't you, Clark?"
Release Date: July 29, 1983.
Blu-ray Release Date:
August 10, 2010.
4 stars

The Twilight Saga: EclipseMPAA Rating: PG-13 for intense sequences of action and violence, and some sensuality.
Director: David Slade
Writer: Melissa Rosenberg
Cast: Kristen Stewart; Robert Pattinson; Taylor Lautner
Genre: Fantasy|Romance
Memorable Movie Quote: "Isabella Swan, I promise to love you every moment of forever."
Release Date: June 30, 2010
DVD Release Date: December 4, 2010

3 Stars

The Karate Kid (2010)MPAA Rating: PG for bullying, martial arts action violence and some mild language.
Director: Harald Zwart
Writer: Christopher Murphey
Cast: Jaden Smith, Jackie Chan, Taraji P. Henson.
Genre
: Action | Drama
Memorable Movie Quote: "I hate this place!"
Release Date: June 11, 2010
DVD Release Date: October 5, 2010

3 Stars

Sex and the City 2MPAA Rating: R for some strong sexual content and language.
Director: Michael Patrick King
Writer: Michael Patrick King
Cast: Sarah Jessica Parker; Kim Cattrall; Chris Noth
Genre: Comedy | Drama
Memorable Movie Quote: "How are you gonna swallow all those?""
Release Date: May 28, 2010
DVD Release Date: Not yet announced

1 Star

The A-TeamMPAA Rating: PG-13 for intense sequences of action and violence throughout, language and smoking.
Director: Joe Carnahan
Writer: Joe Carnahan
Cast: Liam Neeson; Bradley Cooper; Jessica Biel
Genre: Action | Adventure
Memorable Movie Quote:
"Man up! Now get in there, we've gotta finish the escape! Man up and get in there!"
Release Date: June 11, 2010
DVD Release Date: December 14, 2010

4 stars

European Vacation Blu-ray reviewDirector: Amy Heckerling
Writer
: John Hughes
Cast: Chevy Chase; Beverly D'Angelo; Jason Lively
Genre
: Comedy
Memorable Movie Quote: "Hey look kids, there's Big Ben, and there's Parliament."
Release Date: July 26, 1985
Blu-ray Release Date:
August 10, 2010.
3 Stars

Kick-AssMPAA Rating: R for strong brutal violence throughout, pervasive language, sexual content, nudity and some drug use - some involving children.
Runtime
: 117 mins.
Director
: Matthew Vaughn
Writer
: Jane Goldman
Cast
: Aaron Johnson; Evan Peters...
Tagline
: I can't read your mind. But I can kick your ass.
Genre
: Action | Comedy
Memorable Movie Quote:
"With no power comes no responsibility. "
Release Date:
April 9, 2010
DVD/Blu-ray Release Date
: August 3, 2010

5 Stars

Mother and ChildMPAA Rating: R for sexuality, brief nudity, and language.
Director: Rodrigo García
Writer:Rodrigo García 
Cast: Annette Bening; Naomi Watts, Samuel L. Jackson
Genre: Drama
Release Date: May 21, 2010 (USA)
DVD Release Date: December 14, 2010

4 stars

Batman: Under the Red Hood DVD ReviewMPAA Rating: PG-13 for violent content and some drug references.
Runtime
: 75 mins.
Director
: Brandon Vietti
Writer
: Judd Winick
Cast
: Bruce Greenwood; Neil Patrick Harris; Wade Williams
Tagline
: Dare To Look Beneath The Hood
Genre
: Animated | Action | Crime
Memorable Movie Quote:
"Oh, Bird Boy, you're so much less fun now. All grown up and in your big-boy pants. Still, better off than his replacement, right? Even tougher making with the yuks when you're worm food, huh?"
DVD/Blu-ray Release Date:
July 27, 2010
3 stars

Shrek Forever AfterMPAA Rating: PG for mild action, some rude humor and brief language.
Director: Mike Mitchell
Writer: Josh Klausner & Darren Lemke
Cast: Mike Meyers, Eddie Murphy; Cameron Diaz
Genre: Animated
Memorable Movie Quote: "Sometimes I Wish I had just one day to feel like an ogre again."
Release Date: May 21, 2010
Blu-ray/DVD Release Date: December 7, 2010
Distributor: Dreamworks Animation:

2 stars

James and the Giant Peach Blu-ray ReviewMPAA Rating: PG for some frightening images.
Director
: Henry Selick
Writer
: Karey Kirkpatrick
Cast: Richard Dreyfuss; Simon Callow; Jane Leeves
Genre
: Animated | Family
Memorable Movie Quote: "He's committed pesticide! "
Release Date: April 12, 1996
Blu-ray Release Date:
August 3, 2010.
4 stars

Rambo Blu-rayRated: Rated R for strong graphic bloody violence, sexual assaults, grisly images and language.
Runtime: 91 mins.
Director: Sylvester Stallone
Writer: Art Monterastelli and Sylvester Stallone
Cast: Sylvester Stallone; Julie Benz; Matthew Marsden
Tagline: Heroes never die.... They just reload.
Genre: Action | Drama | Thriller
Memorable Quote: "We need another python. See what you can do. We have enough Cobras, okay?"
Release Date: January 25, 2008
Blu-ray Release Date: July 27, 2010

4 stars

FanboysMPAA Rating: PG-13 for pervasive crude and sexual material, language and drug content.
Runtime: 90 mins.
Director: Kyle Newman
Writer: Ernest Cline.
Cast: Sam Huntington; Chris Marquette; Jay Baruchel
Tagline: Never tell them the odds.
Genre: Comedy
Memorable Quote: "That better be your lucky R2 poking me. "
Release Date: February 6, 2009 (limited)
Blu-ray Release Date: July 27, 2010

4 stars

Edge of DarknessMPAA Rating: R for strong bloody violence and language.
Runtime: 117 mins.
Director: Martin Campbell
Writer: William Monahan and Andrew Bovell
Cast: Mel Gibson; Ray Winstone; Danny Huston
Tagline: Some secrets take us to the edge.
Genre: Drama | Thriller
Memorable Quote: "You had better decide whether you're hangin' on the cross... or bangin' in the nails. "
Release Date: January 29, 2010
Distributor: Warner Bros. Pictures

3 Stars

InsomniaMPAA Rating: R for language, some violence and brief nudity.
Runtime: 118 mins.
Director: Christopher Nolan
Writer: Hillary Seitz
Cast: Al Pacino; Robin Williams; Hilary Swank
Tagline: Days never end. Nightmares are real. No one is innocent.
Genre: Crime | Drama | Mystery
Memorable Quote: "A good cop can't sleep because he's missing a piece of the puzzle. And a bad cop can't sleep because his conscience won't let him."
Release Date: May 24, 2002
Blu-ray, DVD Release Date: July 13, 2010
Distributor: Warner Home Video

4 stars

In BrugesRated: R for strong bloody violence, pervasive language and some drug use.
Runtime: 107 mins.
Director: Martin McDonagh
Writer: Martin McDonagh
Cast: Elizabeth Berrington; Rudy Blomme; Mark Donovan
Tagline: S hoot first. Sightsee later.
Genre: Crime/Comedy / Drama
Memorable Quote: "One gay beer for my gay friend, one normal beer for me because I am normal."
Release Date: February 8, 2008
DVD Release Date: July 13, 2010

4 stars

GreenbergMPAA Rating: R for some strong sexuality, drug use, and language.
Runtime: 107 mins.
Director: Noah Baumbach
Writer: Noah Baumbach
Cast: Ben Stiller; Greta Gerwig
Tagline: He's got a lot on his mind.
Genre: Drama | Comedy
Memorable Quote: "Dear Starbucks, in your attempt to manufacture culture out of fast food coffee you've been surprisingly successful for the most part. The part that isn't covered by 'the most part' sucks."
Release Date: March 19, 2010.
Blu-ray, DVD Release Date: July 13, 2010
Distributor: Focus Features

2 stars

Jason and the ArgonautsMPAA Rating: This film has not been rated by the MPAA.
Runtime: 104 mins.
Director: Don Chaffey
Writer: Jan Read & Beverley Cross
Cast: Todd Armstrong; Nancy Kovak; Gary Raymond
Tagline: Greatest Odyssey Of The Ages - for the first time on the screen.
Genre: Action | Fantasy | Adventure
Memorable Quote: Zeus, I was a sinner. I've never tried to deny it. But I didn't sin every day. Why then do you punish me *every day*?
Release Date: June 19, 1963
Blu-ray, DVD Release Date: July 6, 2010
Distributor: Columbia Pictures

5 Stars

Toy Story 3 - Movie ReviewMPAA Rating: G for General Audiences.
Director: Lee Unkrich
Writer: Michael Arndt and John Lasseter
Cast: Tom Hanks; Tim Allen; Joan Cusack
Genre: Animation | Comedy
Memorable Movie Quote: "C'mon. Let's go see how much we're going for on eBay."
Release Date: June 18, 2010
DVD Release Date: Not yet announced

5 stars

Steamboat Bill, Jr. Blu-ray ReviewMPAA Rating: This film has not been rated by the MPAA.
Runtime: 71 mins.
Director: Charles Reisner
Writer: Carl Harbough
Cast: Buster Keaton; McGuire; Ernest Torrance
Tagline: The Laugh Special of the Age. See It.
Genre: Comedy | Silents
Release Date: May 20, 1928
Blu-ray, DVD Release Date: July 6, 2010
Distributor: United Artists

5 Stars

The Girl With the Dragon TattooMPAA Rating: This film has not been rated by the MPAA.
Runtime: 152 mins.
Director: Niels Arden Oplev
Writer: Nikolaj Arcel and Rasmus Heisterberg
Cast: Michael Nyqvist; Noomi Rapace; Lena Andre ... complete cast
Tagline: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.
Genre: Crime | Mystery | Foreign
Release Date: April 2, 2010
DVD Release Date: Not yet available on DVD/Blu-ray
Distributor: Music Box Films

4 stars

PredatorsMPAA Rating: R for strong creature violence and gore, and pervasive language.
Director
: Nimród Antal
Writer
: Alex Litvak & Michael Finch
Cast:
Adrien Brody; Topher Grace; Alice Braga
Genre
: Action | Adventure
Memorable Movie Quote:
"This planet is a game reserve. And we're the game."
Release Date:
July 9, 2010
DVD Release Date:
Not yet announced
5 Stars

The Girl Who Played With Fire - Movie ReviewMPAA Rating: R for brutal violence including a rape, some strong sexual content, nudity and language.
Director
: Daniel Alfredson
Writer
: Jonas Frykberg
Cast:
Noomi Rapace; Michael Nyqvist
Genre
: Thriller | drama | foreign
Memorable Movie Quote:
"If you touch me again I'll kill you, understand?"
Release Date:
July 9, 2010
DVD/Blu-ray Release Date:
October 26, 2010
4 stars

The CraziesMPAA Rating: R for bloody violence and language.
Runtime: 101 mins.
Director: Breck Eisner
Writer: Scott Kosar and Ray Wright
Cast: Timothy Olyphant; Radha Mitchell; Joe Anderson ... complete cast
Tagline: Fear They Neighbor.
Genre: Horror
Memorable Movie Quote: "It's gonna be alright, we're gonna be ok. "
Release Date: February 26, 2010
DVD Release Date: June 29, 2010.
Distributor: Overture Films

3 stars

The White RibbonMPAA Rating: R for some disturbing content involving violence and sexuality.
Runtime: 144 mins.
Director: Michael Haneke
Writer: Michael Haneke
Cast: Christian Friedel; Ulrich Tukur; Ernst Jacobi
Tagline: The White Ribbon.
Genre: Drama; Foreign
Memorable Movie Quote: "Did you ever wonder who mistreated Karli? "
Release Date: December 30, 2009 (limited)
DVD Release Date: June 29, 2010.
Distributor:Sony Pictures Classics

5 Stars

Book of EliMPAA Rating: R for strong bloody violence, language and brief nudity.
Runtime: 98 mins.
Director: Michael Spierig and Peter Spierig
Writer: Michael Spierig and Peter Spierig
Cast: Ethan Hawke; Willem Dafoe. ... complete cast
Tagline: Daybreakers.
Genre: Horror | Sci-Fi
Memorable Quote: "Immortality is the miracle, we are blessed."
Release Date: January 8, 2010
DVD Release Date: Not yet on DVD.
Distributor: Lionsgate.

3 Stars

War of the WorldsMPAA Rating: PG-13 for frightening sequences of sci-fi violence and disturbing images.
Runtime
: 116 mins.
Director
: Steven Spielberg
Writer
: Josh Friedman and David Koepp
Cast
: Tom Cruise; Dakota Fanning; Miranda Otto.
Tagline
: They're already here.
Genre
: Sc-fi | Drama
Memorable Movie Quote: "From the moment the invaders arrived, breathed our air, ate and drank, they were doomed. They were undone, destroyed, after all of man's weapons and devices had failed, by the tiniest creatures that God in his wisdom put upon this earth. By the toll of a billion deaths, man had earned his immunity, his right to survive among this planet's infinite organisms. And that right is ours against all challenges. For neither do men live nor die in vain."
Release Date: June 29, 2005
Blu-ray Release Date: June 1, 2010.

5 Stars

She's Out of My LeagueMPAA Rating: R for language and sexual content.
Runtime: 104 mins.
Director: Jim Field Smith
Writer: Sean Anders & John Morris
Cast: Jay Baruchel; Alice Eve; Mike Vogel.
Tagline: t'll all add up March 12.
Genre: Comedy | Romance
Memorable Movie Quote: "Patty's not a bitch, she's uh... different"
Release Date: March 12, 2010
DVD Release Date: June 22, 2010.

4 stars

Winter's BoneMPAA Rating: R for some drug material, language and violent content.
Director: Debra Granik
Writer: Debra Granik and Anne Rosselini
Cast: Jennifer Lawrence; John Hawkes; Lauren Sweetser
Genre: Drama | Thriller
Memorable Movie Quote: "I don't know where he's at, and I ain't gonna go asking after him neither."
Release Date: June 25, 2010 (wide release)
DVD Release Date: October 26, 2010

5 Stars

Movie Reviews

Our Tweets

 

You are here: Home Home Video
Follow us on Twitter
Like us on Facebook
Google+
Letterboxd
Find us on Rotten Tomatoes